OEMSCAN_ADDON_MULTIOEM v1.61


OEM A.C.T. (OEM Activation Control Technology)
This is a method that allows you to create a Windows XP Setup disk that has Multiple Manufacturer oembios.* files on it. During installation a script is run that determines what oembios.* files are needed for the system so that you will have a pre-activated install. This will help lessen the times that you need to call Microsoft for activation. :D

Postby FreeStyler » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:20 pm

Here you find explanation about the particular Fujitsu file set

Think i understand why Bezalel marked the 'alienware' set like that, allthough i believe he's mistaken there,

this is whats encrypted inside oembios.dat
Code: Select all
'e000','e05e','','alienware'
'f000','079f','','alienware'
'f000','07b4','','alienware'
'f000','0f66','','alienware'
'f000','0f86','','alienware'
'f000','1071','','alienware'
'f000','1091','','alienware'
'f000','10a9','','alienware'
'f000','0000','ffff','alienware'
'e000','0000','ffff','alienware'


Obviously Bezalel marked them not valid because of the 3th value in the memory address is left blank, he is mistaken because if no value is specified it defaults to 0x100.

"alienware" is the SLP string, if this string is found anywhere in the different address ranges you see in above example the system validates.

See #202 @MSFN
Image
FreeStyler
Member

Posts: 50
Users Information
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:37 pm

Nice. That makes more sense now.

Postby insomnai » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:42 pm

So if I change my folder set out a little, I could alter the smartepants addon so the ini looks like the following:

[EditFile]
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,Fujitsu Siemens,Fujitsu Siemens
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,FSC System,FSC System
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,FSC Server,FSC Server
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,Fujitsu-PC,Fujitsu-PC

[FileMove]
; For Fujitsu Siemens systems
SVCPACK\10045CFA\*,..\OEM\10045CFA\*
SVCPACK\9CF90CA8\*,..\OEM\9CF90CA8\*

[DetachedProgram]
[Fujitsu Siemens]
Path=".\10045CFA\"
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"

[FSC System]
Path=".\10045CFA\"
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"

[FSC Server]
Path=".\10045CFA\"
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"

[Fujitsu-PC]
Path=".\9CF90CA8\" (this particular crc is marked as obsolete on the link you gave me earlier! BACB9A77 replaces it? Is this right? The repository shows it the other way round!)
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"


Would this work? Basically instead of having named folders for Fujitsu etc, I just have one folder that matches the name of the oembios set and everything refers to that?

Any clues mate?
insomnai
Member

Posts: 35
Users Information
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:38 pm

Problems

Postby insomnai » Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:01 am

Created an integrated disc with RC3 last night, used Smartepants multioem addon but it didn't work, ended up with a standard windows installation.

Any clues?

Regards

Insomnai
insomnai
Member

Posts: 35
Users Information
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:38 pm

Postby mr_smartepants » Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:37 am

insomnai wrote:So if I change my folder set out a little, I could alter the smartepants addon so the ini looks like the following:
Code: Select all
[EditFile]
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,Fujitsu Siemens,Fujitsu Siemens
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,FSC System,FSC System
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,FSC Server,FSC Server
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,Fujitsu-PC,Fujitsu-PC

[FileMove]
; For Fujitsu Siemens systems
SVCPACK\10045CFA\*,..\OEM\10045CFA\*
SVCPACK\9CF90CA8\*,..\OEM\9CF90CA8\*

[DetachedProgram]
[Fujitsu Siemens]
Path=".\10045CFA\"
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"

[FSC System]
Path=".\10045CFA\"
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"

[FSC Server]
Path=".\10045CFA\"
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"

[Fujitsu-PC]
Path=".\9CF90CA8\" (this particular crc is marked as obsolete on the link you gave me earlier! BACB9A77 replaces it? Is this right? The repository shows it the other way round!)
CMD="Setkey *****-*****-*****-*****-*****"


Would this work? Basically instead of having named folders for Fujitsu etc, I just have one folder that matches the name of the oembios set and everything refers to that?

Any clues mate?

Well for starters, you're missing some entries.
You haven't set your winnt.sif like so:
Code: Select all
[EditFile]
I386\WINNT.SIF,GuiUnattended,DetachedProgram


Then you're missing your file move to copy over the setkey.exe and oemscan stuff:
Code: Select all

[FileMove]
SVCPACK\setkey.exe,..\OEM\*
SVCPACK\oemscan.*,..\OEM\*


Then you don't have anything listed under [detachedprogram], it should look like this:
Code: Select all
[DetachedProgram]
DetachedProgram = CMD.EXE
Arguments = "/Q /C FOR /F %? IN ('%SYSTEMROOT%\SYSTEM32\MOUNTVOL.EXE^|FINDSTR :\') DO IF EXIST %?WIN51 START %?.\OEM\OEMSCAN.EXE"


So, apart from the obvious above, everything else looks fine. :)
mr_smartepants
Senior Member

Posts: 536
Users Information
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:06 am

My bad. What I wrote in my message were...

Postby insomnai » Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:24 pm

the only parts I edited. The things you mentioned are still in the file...

This is what my .ini file looks like as I see it.

;This section contains version info

[general]

builddate=2008/01/13
description=OEMSCAN Addon for multi-system installs.

;ServicePack=SP2
title=OEMSCAN Addon for multi-system installs
version=1.61/mr_smartepants
Windows=XP

;Full credit for this functionality goes to FreeStyler, without whom this wouldn't be possible.


[EditFile]

I386\WINNT.SIF,GuiUnattended,DetachedProgram

; Company Name
; I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,BiosString,BiosString

;Acer
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,AcerSystem,AcerSystem
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,Acer TravelMate,Acer TravelMate
I386\SVCPACK\OEMSCAN.ini,TravelMate,TravelMate

[FileMove]

SVCPACK\setkey.exe,..\OEM\*
SVCPACK\oemscan.*,..\OEM\*

; Company Name
; SVCPACK\BIOSSET\*,..\OEM\BIOSSET\*

;Acer
SVCPACK\717B6EF3\*,..\OEM\717B6EF3\*
SVCPACK\700A8481\*,..\OEM\700A8481\*


[DetachedProgram]

DetachedProgram = CMD.EXE
Arguments = "/Q /C FOR /F %? IN ('%SYSTEMROOT%\SYSTEM32\MOUNTVOL.EXE^|FINDSTR :\') DO IF EXIST %?WIN51 START %?.\OEM\OEMSCAN.EXE"


;Acer
[AcerSystem]
PATH=".\717B6EF3\"
CMD="SetKey 12345-12345-12345-12345-12345"
[Acer TravelMate]
PATH=".\700A8481\"
CMD="SetKey 12345-12345-12345-12345-12345"
[TravelMate]
PATH=".\700A8481\"
CMD="SetKey 12345-12345-12345-12345-12345"
insomnai
Member

Posts: 35
Users Information
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:38 pm

Postby mr_smartepants » Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:02 am

Hmmm
The only differences I can see are the space used in "Acer Travelmate", generally spaces are a bad idea.
Second, you use the CRC number as the folder name where I use the OEM name (Dell, etc) for the folder, but I don't see why that wouldn't work either.

Are the edits made correctly to winnt.sif and the oemscan.ini? That's all I can suggest.
mr_smartepants
Senior Member

Posts: 536
Users Information
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:06 am

Postby katoman » Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:38 pm

Created an integrated disc, I used Smartepants multioem addon and added Hp and Compaq oems and it worked perfectly.

Thanks
katoman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Users Information
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:25 pm

Postby mr_smartepants » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:51 am

Great! It's good to hear that this is working for someone other than myself. :)
Not all heroes wear capes, some wear Kevlar! OEMSCAN pre-activation addon for OEM XP & 2003
mr_smartepants
Senior Member

Posts: 536
Users Information
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:06 am

Postby TwoJ » Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:13 pm

Its working for me too, thanks smartepants!

-i do have a question that maybe someone can help with
i had tested this a few weeks ago and the computer according to mgadiag stated that the status was valid or genuine (i forget which), but i believe i may have integrated the wgatool from ryanvm into the install source.

when i was testing it last night, i took a plain xp home sp2, and just integrated the ryanvm update pack & driverpacks, no wga tools, and when i check on mgadiag in the status i get 'Validation Control not installed' , it has a resolve button that if clicked will install the wgatool, after that if you re-run mgadiag it gives you the status of Genuine.

So just wondering if anyone knows - does the wga tool need to installed?
I also thought that the ryanvm update pack the 2.1.11 has a wgatool, so does that mean the wgadiag needs the latest wga tool (notification)?

Test2 - i integrated the wga addon from ryanvm and the system shows up as genuine in mgadiag, so i guess the current wgatool is needed to determine validation
TwoJ
Senior Member

Posts: 465
Users Information
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:09 pm

Postby MOW » Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:35 pm

mr_smartepants wrote:I've tried to simplify this addon so that the only file you need to edit is the Entries_OEMScan_MULTIOEM.ini file and add your OEMBIOS.* files...that's it!
This addon should be 100% compatible with single-disc as well as multi-OS/multi-boot PowerPacker integrations.


Is swapping around the OEMBIOS.* files enough to build a multi-CD?
Aren't there different versions of pidgen.dll and dpcdll.dll too?
MOW
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Users Information
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:23 pm

PreviousNext

Return to The OEM A.C.T.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron