[Release] OEMScan Addons v1.4.1


OEM A.C.T. (OEM Activation Control Technology)
This is a method that allows you to create a Windows XP Setup disk that has Multiple Manufacturer oembios.* files on it. During installation a script is run that determines what oembios.* files are needed for the system so that you will have a pre-activated install. This will help lessen the times that you need to call Microsoft for activation. :D

Postby Siginet » Wed Sep 05, 2007 2:27 am

I don't see any reason the latest beta will not work? It should actually work better.
Image
Windows XP PowerPacker Reviewed in PC-Quest & PC Utilities magazines!
RVM Integrator Reviewed in CPU magazine and Maximum PC!
--Siginet--
User avatar
Siginet
Senior Member

Posts: 1445
Users Information
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 3:24 pm

Postby mr_smartepants » Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:33 am

I agree with Siginet, I've been using the beta integrator exclusively for the past few months. I developed/tested this addon with the beta integrator, in fact I haven't actually tested it with the 1.4.3 release, so I'm glad it works OK.
mr_smartepants
Senior Member

Posts: 536
Users Information
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:06 am

Integrator Mystery

Postby fabjr » Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:18 pm

mr_smartepants wrote:I agree with Siginet, I've been using the beta integrator exclusively for the past few months. I developed/tested this addon with the beta integrator, in fact I haven't actually tested it with the 1.4.3 release, so I'm glad it works OK.



I've tried all day to get your Addon to work with Beta,with no luck.

P.S. I will keep working on it till I find out what I'm doing wrong
:p fabjr :p
fabjr
Member

Posts: 38
Users Information
Age: 77
Location: Salem,Or
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:49 pm

Postby kd6aaj » Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:27 pm

Hello Siginet,

This is kd6aaj.

I have been reading the forum here and the MSFN forum about your "OEM A.C.T." , OEMScan, and Bezalel's original method for OEM SLP preactivation.

Great work you guys!

My question is [which nobody on MSFN has gotten around to answering yet, guess I'm impatient :<) ]

My emachines is the "obsolete" version with the CRC of 1B7F1F55.

I used "getfiles.bat" to get the oembios.* files, got the OEM SLP key, and have them sitting happily in their own folder.

I have my OEM xp cd slipstreamed to SP5 with RyanVM's SP5 pack.

Do I still need the WINNT.SIF file generated by getfiles.bat, or can I place the info on the cd somewhere?

Thanks,

kd6aaj
kd6aaj
Member

Posts: 30
Users Information
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:38 am

Postby Siginet » Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:20 pm

You basically just need that Key found inside the winnt.sif file in your winnt.sif file. If you don't have a winnt.sif file you can use the one created.

Or you can attempt to use mr_smartepants method by adding the key to oemscan.ini and creating a winnt.sif file with the DetachedProgram entry in it.
Image
Windows XP PowerPacker Reviewed in PC-Quest & PC Utilities magazines!
RVM Integrator Reviewed in CPU magazine and Maximum PC!
--Siginet--
User avatar
Siginet
Senior Member

Posts: 1445
Users Information
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 3:24 pm

Postby fabjr » Fri Sep 07, 2007 7:41 pm

Hello again mr_ smartepants,I have no earthly idea what I was doing wrong but I have your addon working With the Beta Integrator .Thank you very much for your wonderful addon :-D :-D
:p fabjr :p
fabjr
Member

Posts: 38
Users Information
Age: 77
Location: Salem,Or
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:49 pm

Postby mr_smartepants » Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:37 am

No problem! :D
Glad to help.

kd6aaj, Yes, Siginet is correct.
mr_smartepants
Senior Member

Posts: 536
Users Information
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 2:06 am

Postby kd6aaj » Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:04 am

OK.

I was wondering if anyone figured out the method to use if you have the same "Manufacturer:" names, but a different CRC, example:

(original "obsolete" eMachines, before Gateway/eMachines combos)
MANUFACTURER: EMACHINES
CRC: 1B7F1F55

and another with a hypothetical CRC of 1A2B3C44

Can we use a semicolon, like 1B7F1F55;1A2B3C44
or would I just have to have 2 seperate cdrom or maybe a prompt for "OLD" or "NEW" eMachines PC OEMBIOS?

I have not done any "Scriptit" coding, so I don't know my way around that problem.

Can we use the CRC to determine which OEMBIOS.* files to use, instead of the "Manufacturer" string?

Thanks,

kd6aaj
kd6aaj
Member

Posts: 30
Users Information
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:38 am

Postby Siginet » Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:24 pm

In your oemscan.ini you will want both of the types listed. OEMSCAN.EXE will check each one till it finds a match.

For instance... you actually have to have 2 instances of Gateway. Download the Gateway Oemscan Addon and look at the entries file for it. You will notice how it is adding a [Gatewa] and a [Gateway]... and I think a [EMACHINES].
Image
Windows XP PowerPacker Reviewed in PC-Quest & PC Utilities magazines!
RVM Integrator Reviewed in CPU magazine and Maximum PC!
--Siginet--
User avatar
Siginet
Senior Member

Posts: 1445
Users Information
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 3:24 pm

Postby kd6aaj » Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:37 pm

Thanks Siginet.

I'll give it a shot, and see how it works.

Now, to check out Scriptit programming... :)


kd6aaj
kd6aaj
Member

Posts: 30
Users Information
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:38 am

PreviousNext

Return to The OEM A.C.T.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron