[Release] cmdhide.exe (cmdow replacement)


Here are some other small tools that have been created by Siginet that are in someway helpful.

[Release] cmdhide.exe (cmdow replacement)

Postby Siginet » Fri Jul 07, 2006 11:31 am

[CENTER]Download here:
cmdhide[/CENTER]

This small tool is useful for hiding ugly cmd windows.

It might not be quite as effective as cmdow.exe but cmdow.exe is now triggered by antivirus programs as a virus. cmdow.exe is not a virus... but since the AV makers decided to destroy cmdow.exe I came up with this alternative.

It works a little diffrently than cmdow. Here is how you use it:

Most people will want to place the cmdhide.exe file in the system32 directory so they don't have to specify the path to cmdhide.exe in their batch files.

There are 2 ways to use it.

1. Hide one Batch File
Let's say you want to hide only one batch file. The batch file you want to hide is the batch you are going to start. In this case you would want to call cmdhide.exe with the title of the batch window. So somewhere in your batch you need to make a Title for the batch window like this:
Code: Select all
Title MyBatchWindow

So now your Window Title is "MyBatchWindow"

Now in your batch you will want to call cmdhide.exe with the window title like this:
Code: Select all
Title MyBatchWindow
Code: Select all
[size=84]cmdhide /name:MyBatchWindow[/size]

*Make sure you put your window title between quotes if it has spaces in it.

Now when the batch starts you will see the cmd window for a second then it will dissapear. :)

2. Hide batches called from other scripts
This is my favorite and will probably be the most used because it never flashes the batch window at all. It is hidden from the get go. Also it is very simple to do.

From within your main script if you are gonna call any batch windows you want to hide all you have to do is call cmdhide.exe with the path to the batch you want to hide.
Example:
Code: Select all
cmdhide "X:\path\to\mybatch.bat"


v1.3
1. Bug fixed when run without path.
v1.2
1. Fixed bug where Environment Variables were not parsed.
2. Fixed bug where if path was not given the batch was not run.
v1.1
1. Fixed bug where if the path is not given an error would occur.
2. If file does not exist an error would occur... now there will be no indication at all.
User avatar
Siginet
Senior Member

Posts: 1448
Users Information
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 12:24 pm

Postby pemdas » Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:19 pm

Link is broken. I cannot download cmdhide.exe
pemdas
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Users Information
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:16 pm

Postby Tasslehoff » Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:44 pm

Ah!!! funny I was looking for it as well. I only get a damaged 48.4kb zip file :???: doh.
Tasslehoff
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Users Information
Age: 41
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:39 pm

Postby Siginet » Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:58 am

Sorry. Link fixed. :D
Image
Windows XP PowerPacker Reviewed in PC-Quest & PC Utilities magazines!
RVM Integrator Reviewed in CPU magazine and Maximum PC!
--Siginet--
User avatar
Siginet
Senior Member

Posts: 1448
Users Information
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 12:24 pm

thank you

Postby komsboy_more » Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:06 am

thank you ......................................
komsboy_more
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Users Information
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:57 am

Postby Smile » Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:15 am

Great tool
Smile
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Users Information
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:33 am

Postby ENU_user » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:34 pm

i tried cmdhide "X:\path\to\mybatch.bat"
from my current location
cmdhide "mybatch.bat"
no Go :(
and does this have start /wait in it ?
cmdhide "*.bat"
or will that complicate things
i wanted it the to work with a "FOR" LooP
ENU_user

Posts: 485
Users Information
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:57 am

Postby Siginet » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:50 pm

ENU_user wrote:i tried cmdhide "X:\path\to\mybatch.bat"
from my current location
cmdhide "mybatch.bat"
no Go :(
and does this have start /wait in it ?
cmdhide "*.bat"
or will that complicate things
i wanted it the to work with a "FOR" LooP



I haven't used cmdhide in a long time... and I wrote it a long time ago. ;) So bare with me. :)

Where is your cmdhide.exe file located?
cmdhide "X:\path\to\mybatch.bat" should definatly work if you throw cmdhide.exe in the system32 directory or are running your batch in the same folder as cmdhide.exe.

If it doesn't then maybe I'll have a look into it and see if I can reproduce the error.

As for cmdhide "*.bat" ... It should work in theory... but I would have to look at my source code because I don't remember what I wrote. lol!

I actually thought cmdhide.exe wasn't popular at all so I stopped developing it. Allthough I have noticed latley that people are still using it all over the internet. So any ways I can improve on it I will.

As for the Start/ Wait... Again I need to look at my source to find out. I think it does wait until the app is finished before it stops... but I am not sure. If I need to I can allways add some switches to allow the user to choose wether cmdhide waits or not.

Edit: Now that I am thinking... I doubt if * represents a wild character in this case... but it might. If not I can work on something.
Image
Windows XP PowerPacker Reviewed in PC-Quest & PC Utilities magazines!
RVM Integrator Reviewed in CPU magazine and Maximum PC!
--Siginet--
User avatar
Siginet
Senior Member

Posts: 1448
Users Information
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 12:24 pm

Postby hasl » Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:46 pm

greets jobs sir.keep it up
hasl
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Users Information
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:45 pm

Postby rootw0rm » Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:44 pm

you've gotta be fucking kidding me. this is autoit bullshit. lol
rootw0rm
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Users Information
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:34 pm

Next

Return to Other Small Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests